With the vape craze going strong, it seems like everyone is trying to get their hands on an e-pen, or a more expensive mod, and chase some juicy clouds. Vaping appears to be especially appealing to the younger generation, which comes as no surprise. The younger members of the smoking culture are using the new trend as an expression of their free spirit and rebellious nature. However, most teenagers are not sure if they are legally allowed to enjoy their electronic smoking devices.
The most common question we hear is – do you have to be 18 to buy a vape? The short answer would be “yes”; however, some states have set the age limit even higher and have different regulations when it comes to using vaping devices and e-liquids. If you just turned 18 and you’re looking to pick up your first e-cigarette, but you’re not sure what the vaping age limit in your state is, then this article is for you.
What’s the Legal Age to Vape?
When vaping started gaining popularity, there were little to no regulations in place as e-juices and vaping devices were considered as tobacco-free products and did not fall under the same legal act as conventional cigarettes. That all changed in 2016 when the FDA gained authority over all vaping devices after the enactment of the Deeming Regulations. Even a few years before the passing of the legislation, more than 40 states set the minimum vaping age limit to 18 years.
Aside from the age limit, the FDA also regulated where you can and cannot vape, imposed taxes on all vaping-related products, and regulated what devices are safe for use.
How old do you have to be to buy a vape pen in each state? Here’s a list:
Alabama – The state of Alabama prohibits the sale of electronic vaping devices that deliver nicotine or other substances via inhaling to persons under the age of 19.
Alaska – Selling electronic smoking devices to a person under the age of 19 is prohibited unless approved for medical purposes.
Arizona – The sale and use of vapor products are prohibited to everyone under the age of 18.
Arkansas – The laws in Arkansas might be slightly confusing. In order to purchase and use any vaping products, you need to be at least 21 years of age. However, the distribution of free samples is legal even to people younger than 21.
California – Selling e-cigarettes and vape products to persons under the age of 21 is prohibited, unless they are active-duty military personnel. In that case, the individual is allowed to purchase vaping products if he or she is at least 18.
Colorado – If you’re wondering how old do you have to be to vape in the state of Colorado, you’ll be happy to hear that the age limit is 18.
Connecticut – This state set the age limit higher, so selling electronic nicotine devices is prohibited to persons under the age of 21.
Delaware – Selling or distributing vape products to everyone under the age of 21 is also prohibited.
Florida – Here in Florida, sales of nicotine dispensing devices and other vaping products are prohibited to persons under the age of 18.
Georgia – Selling or using vaping products is prohibited if you are under the age of 18.
Hawaii – Selling and using electronic smoking devices is prohibited for people under the age of 21.
Idaho – Laws on e-cigarettes prohibit selling or distributing e-cigarette devices to persons under the age of 18.
Illinois – Another state that raised the age limit and prohibited selling electronic vaping devices to persons under the age of 21.
Indiana – The state of Indiana prohibits selling any device that delivers a vaporized solution to anyone under the age of 18. They also prohibit selling any vaping-related products to persons under the age of 18.
Iowa – The legal purchase age in Iowa is 18. All products related to vaping are also not to be sold to anyone under the age of 18.
Kansas – This state also prohibits selling electronic cigarettes to people under the age of 18.
Kentucky – In the state of Kentucky, selling vapor products is prohibited to persons under the age of 18. Distributing free samples is also illegal to anyone under the age of 18.
Louisiana – Selling vaping devices and related products to any individual under the age of 18 is prohibited.
Maine – The sale and distribution of tobacco products, as well as vaping products, to individuals under the age of 21 is prohibited.
Maryland – The state of Maryland prohibits the sale and use of electronic cigarettes and similar devices to persons under the age of 18.
Massachusetts – In the state of Massachusetts, you need to be at least 21 years of age to purchase and use vaping devices.
Michigan – The state of Michigan prohibits the sale of vapor products to individuals who are under the age of 18.
Minnesota – The sale and distribution of vapor products to persons under the age of 18 is prohibited.
Mississippi – In the state of Mississippi, you are prohibited from purchasing vaping-related products, as well as any other alternative nicotine products if you are under the age of 18.
Missouri – You need to be at least 18 to purchase vapor products. However, in Kansas City, the age limit is even higher, so you’ll need to be at least 21 years old if you want to purchase a vaping device and e-juices in this city.
Montana – Sales of vaping products, as well as noncombustible products that may contain nicotine, to teenagers under the age of 18 are prohibited.
Nebraska – The laws in Nebraska prohibit sales of electronic nicotine delivery devices and other vaping-related products to persons under the age of 19.
Nevada – You need to be at least 18 years old to purchase and smoke vaping products.
New Hampshire – Purchasing and using e-cigarettes and similar electronic nicotine delivery systems in New Hampshire is prohibited for persons under the age of 18. These devices are also prohibited from use on public educational grounds.
New Jersey – If you want to enjoy your vaping products in New Jersey, you’ll need to be at least 21 years of age.
New Mexico – Purchasing vapor products in New Mexico can be done if you’re at least 18 years of age, but using them on educational grounds is prohibited.
New York – In the state of New York, the legal age for purchasing and using vaping-related products is 21. If you’re in New York City, don’t forget that using your vaping device indoors is prohibited.
North Carolina – This state does not allow the sale and distribution of vaping devices and related products to persons under the age of 18.
North Dakota – You need to be at least 18 years old to purchase vaping devices and e-liquids at your local smoke shop.
Ohio – The state of Ohio prohibits purchasing and using vaping devices and alternative nicotine products for individuals younger than 18. Similarly to Kansas City, Cleveland has a higher age limit and requires you to be at least 21 to purchase vapor products.
Oklahoma – In this state, you won’t be able to purchase vaping products if you’re not at least 18 years old.
Oregon – This state has a higher age limit statewide and prohibits the sale and distribution of vaping products to persons under the age of 21.
Pennsylvania – The state of Pennsylvania requires you to be at least 18 if you want to enjoy your vaping habit.
Rhode Island – Selling or distributing electronic devices that deliver nicotine substances or simulate smoking to persons under the age of 18 is not allowed in this state.
South Carolina – The age limit for purchasing vapor products in South Carolina is 18.
South Dakota – Similarly to North Dakota, you need to be at least 18 to purchase vaping devices and associated products in South Dakota.
Tennessee – You can vape in Tennessee if you’re at least 18.
Texas – If you’re not serving in the military, you need to be at least 21 to vape in Texas. You also shouldn’t be using your vaping device at schools and other public educational grounds.
Utah – In Utah, purchasing an electronic device capable of delivering nicotine substances is prohibited for persons under the age of 19.
Vermont – Legally vaping in Vermont means you are at least 18 years old.
Virginia – This is another one of those states that raised the age limit for vaping to 21. Vaping at schools and railway stations is also prohibited.
Washington – The state of Washington requires that you are at least 18 to use vaping devices and any noncombustible product that contains nicotine.
West Virginia – You are still allowed to vape in West Virginia if you’re 18.
Wisconsin – This state also requires you to be at least 18 if you want to purchase e-liquids and use vaping devices.
Wyoming – Vaping in Wyoming is legal if you are 18.
And there you have it, the vaping age restrictions of all fifty states. We hope you found this article informative and helpful. For more smoking-related news, stop by our blog section and browse through our posts. Now that you know how old do you have to be to buy vape juice, you’ll be happy to know we’ve recently restocked on all our best selling liquids, so come find us at Fort Lauderdale, Florida, and check them out.